News Highlightsr
Share this story on Twitter.

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa.—A talented, veteran New York team won the Little League World Series Aug. 28 by squeaking past a FORMIDABLE South Korean team 2-1. A United States team hadn’t won the LL World Series since 2011, and a New York team hadn’t won it all for over 50 years!

The championship turned out to be a pitchers’ duel as lanky Ryan Harlost for New York was pitted against South Korea’s Jonho Jeong. The three Asian pitchers for that team had dominated the international side of the series.

“I was a little nervous at first in front of a lot of people, but just at the start of the game. I felt pretty confident,” Harlost shared at the press conference after their huge win.

For 3 ½ innings, neither pitcher had allowed a run. But in the bottom of the fourth inning, the New York team managed to score two runs—one was a run batted in and the other score was on a passed ball by the South Korean catcher.

But then South Korea’s Yoomin Lee homered the next inning to make the score 2-1.

At the top of the sixth inning, the New York team was in a tough spot. The tying run was on second base, and the go-ahead run was on first. But with two outs, two strikes and two runners on base, Harlost got his eighth strike out of the game for a 2-1 victory!

‘‘It was all of our last years of Little League, so it’s just awesome to know that we all came together to be the best team in the world,’’ said Conner Rush, who had driven in a run in the fourth inning.

September 2016